wyattearp

Smoke

OK...I admit I am a diesel newbie. After trying to immerse myself for months on several different sites there is still one thing I absolutely do not get. And before anybody gut shoots me, hooks me up to the back of their Cummins, drags me through the sage brush and finish me off..can someone explain the allure of excessive smoke coming from their exhaust pipes. MY understanding is all that black smoke is nothing more than unburnt fuel at $4.70/gallon.

As far as I can tell, it's for young ones that have very deep pockets and love to waiste money. Now I have puffed out a small cloud now and again but don't really like seeing anything coming out of the pipes. That and I don't care for all the heat build up caused by the over fueling. Another thing that it causes is the government folks to look at all that smoke and make regs harsher on diesel vehicles. Look at Nevada. I have a buddy that pulled through in his 379 Pete. He takes off at a light and a cop screams in behind him with his bubble gums flashing. He got a ticket due to his truck blowing some smoke at take off. The cop said it's aginst the law to blow smoke in Nevada. Goes before the judge and he said the same thing. Cost JD $400 for his truck smoking and they wanted to see that his truck had been through a shop to "tune" it so it wouldn't do that again. I don't find it all that attractive. But that's just me.

Me, I want to hook up some propane to my exhaust. Now that would be cool. Have flames coming out. Kind of like on Mad Max.

post-5446-145494327631_thumb.jpg

It reminds of a time when I was in my late teens and could not understand jacking up the back of Camaros and Firebirds, etc and putting big giant tires on just to go fast in a straight line.:rofl:

To me black smoke thing is the same thing. To me the trick is to make more reliable power with as little smoke as possible.

hooks me up to the back of their Cummins

HAHA He knows who blows (smoke). I kid I kid.