moparman1986

Wanting to add some power

I have recently acquired a 2001 24v Dodge. I am new to the 24v fuel systems, and I am wanting to add more power. I am wanting to hit around 4 or 500 without a lot of internal work done to the engine. I know gauges are a first...but what else will I need to hit this power level? Would higher power rating injector nozzels help or should I go with a new set of injectors? Turbo..programmer..chip...and any other suggestions are welcome.

400hp would be easier than 500hp if you don't want to mess with the internals.

You're doubling the horsepower at 400hp so you really need to look at head studs, but at 500hp you'd need to consider fire ringing it. Gauges of course, but also fuel delivery and fuel filtration. Injectors, I would say if they're okay then just get some tips for them otherwise replace them with injectors that have the tips on them already (F1 comes to mind). An upgraded turbo, maybe an intercooler, and a boost tube with a good and inexpensive air filter. I know it's a 2nd gen, but if you could fit the new generation air filter from the late 3rd gen trucks ('08 and up) they provide 99.4% or better filtration, fit in the stock air box (which you could do a PSM/Home Depot mod to), or a way to keep hot engine compartment air from getting to something like the BHAF, that would be fantastic.

Drop a Smarty on it and you'd be running pretty right.

-Kris

400 HP is easy to reach...

• Edge Comp/Edge Juice
  • BHAF
  • Straight pipe exhaust
  • Injectors (RV275 or +50 HP)
  • Airdog 150 or FASS 150

If you auto make sure to beef up the trans.

400 feels good and is easy to acomplish.