• Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found
  • Recently Browsing

No registered users viewing this page.

lumpdog

Twin Turbo Setup questions.

As most of you know, I am pretty new to diesel performance. So I am really trying to gain information about twin turbos.

1. Which is the bottom and top turbo? Which one is bigger?

2. What factors determines picking a good compound setup?

3. Can one be built with turbos sourced from other engines, i.e. big trucks?

4. What are the benefits besides going fast? Better for towing? Cooler egts?

What about making a sticky thread or tech section topic about them?

Thanks!

Ya what he said.........I have read more info on other sites but am more confused than ever. I want to build a good TOWING setup not go fast down the track or squash imports and crap like that.

Well what you are describing and asking about is really a compound turbo setup.

There are three types of setups in reality.

1. Twin Turbo in which you have two smaller sized identical turbos working together to create boost. (Parallel turbos) Typically seen on V style engines
  2. Sequential Twin Turbo: you have a smaller turbo working with a larger turbo. The smaller turbo handles the boost at lower RPMs and as the RPMs increase the boost duties are handed off to the larger turbo
  3. Compound turbos you will have a larger turbo feeding the inlet of the smaller turbo. (Series Turbos) At this point you are compressing air that has already been compressed.

The benefits are exactly as you described with the addition of spool up is quicker. it allows you to go to the effects of having a larger turbo without having the drawback of more lag of a single larger turbo.

Yes you can get turbos from large diesel engines, but you have to understand the charcteristics of how that turbo performs. Just going out and getting a big turbo and slapping it on may not provide the desired effect.