Sign in to follow this  
starter_kit

Filling station rant

Soooo, I stopped for diesel on my way home tonight, and after grabbing the diesel nozzle and smelling the wonderful aroma, I realized that the smell was mostly coming from my hand :x . I am going to estimate that this is probably about 67,831 times now that I have had the pleasure of being covered in diesel fuel after filling my rig. WHY is it so hard for 99.9% of all filling stations to get a decent seal on the connection between the nozzle and the hose?

I work in the farm services industry, everyday I seal hydralic systems, liquid fertilizer systems, anhydrous ammonia systems and so on, and I would say that I enjoy at least a 99% success rate. I just dont understand why it is so difficult for someone at a filling station to comprehend the directions on a roll of pipe tape.

When I went in to pay I asked the future rocket scientist behind the counter why the nozzle is always covered in diesel, his reply was: "Hey man that stuff is oily, and doesn't seal up well", so I said "Well that may be true, but the fuel system on my pickup is filled with that "oily" stuff and it doesn't leak all over everywhere". Then he told me I could call the manager if I wanted to complain.

Am I the only one that has this experience? I know alot of guys carry a glove in the rig to keep from being marinated in diesel when filling, but it just chaps my a$$ that I should have to bring special equipment to fill my rig, especially when it costs me $3.19 a gallon for the privalage.

Maybe since Christmas is right around the corner I should buy a case of pipe tape and deliver it to all of my local filling stations.

:rant: .......and I'm spent.